Skip to content

255. Why I will run for office someday?

January 23, 2013

I have been fascinated about Indian politics since my childhood for the vast mosaic it offers the citizens. Nothing else mattered more than watching political news and election coverage on Doordarshan until the cable TV emerged in the 90s. The fact that my parents were teachers of civics and political science did influence me.

I have voted in an election, canvassed in a couple and contested three as a student and won two of those. Today is the 23rd January 2012 and the 127th birth anniversary of one of India’s finest political leaders and I want to make my intentions public that in 12 years from now I will contest for national elections with the belief of being able to bring in much needed change to my country – change which is two decades away and I will inspire  generation to run for office because we need 545  super honest men and women in 2022 to make laws that take care of 1.5 billion people.

The preparation for the same has begun and I have already identified a campaign manager who is currently spending time in India. I am gaining the much needed international exposure for two years in the world’s best run democracy. More on this to come in the months ahead but real change in Indian polity is only possible when we make it happen from within and you and I can do it if we keep the faith.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nairumesh permalink
    January 24, 2013 8:32 am

    Nice! Happy to see this update. 🙂

    Good luck with the preparation.

    Umesh

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. January 26, 2013 6:19 am

    And trust me you will have more like minded, young, and enthusiastic people, who hate to be arm chair critics and rather choose to drive the change joining you in this initiative. One of them being me.

    • January 26, 2013 6:23 am

      Thanks Aashish. We can make it happen in our lifetime.

Leave a Reply

