Skip to content

231. Christmas in New York

December 31, 2012

It was a good five day break in new York City and in Woodridge in New Jersey for Christmas. I have been to the city before so this trip was only about catching up with friends. S and S – the friends who don’t want to be named picked me up from Newark on 21st night for an ongoing food festival at their home.

The next morning I was on my way by bus to be in Manhattan which is 30 minutes away from where I spent the night. I hung out with a friend (Shrey) and we did two eateries and two shows on that Saturday. Lunch at Max Brenner and Dinner at The Kathi Roll Company besides Charlie Chaplin at broadway and Dabangg 2 at the AMC on Times Square.

The next morning I was on my way to Ronkonkoma in Long Island to catch up for couple of hours with Farida – a good friend  and classmate from my post graduate days wday was christmas Eve and I was ho delivered a baby boy on the eve of Hurricane Sandy. That evening I was back in the city and Shrey and I made an imprmptu plan to watch this fun movie called – This Is Forty.

The next  morning I was back on teh bus to NJ to celebrate Christmas eve and Christmas with S and S. The food festival continued and this time it was roasting a Turkey and going through the entire process besides gorging on home made Christmas Cake (Date+Walnut and Rum+Plum). Midnight mass was at the local parish in Hasbrook Heights and the following evening I was back in Chicago.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

