Skip to content

101 Many firsts to my credit in Public Relations

May 1, 2011

I was just looking back at the last eight years and some more in my career. I was thinking of what a memorable ride I have had and then realised I have had a few firsts to my credit in the realm of Public Relations as a passion and a profession. Some could be disputed but to the best of my knowledge they are correct.

In 2000, I was elected to be the first national spokesperson of the Indian Catholic Youth Movement. In 2003, I became the first intern in any political party in India. In 2004, I became the first management trainee to sign a three-year bond with a leading Public relations firm anywhere in the world (the associate learning programme included 12 other bright young minds too).

In 2007, I became the first Mumbai based employee of a global Public Affairs firm (APCO Worldwide) that was one of the few to enter India without an acquisition.  In 2009, I was appointed  the first corporate communications head of a Publicis Groupe company in India (and one of only two others in the advertising business). In 2011, I became the first direct hire from India by the US office of a global Public Relations firm.

PS – This blog was written in early 2011. The last sentence was updated on November 1st 2011.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

